Event – Margaret Atwood – “Burning Questions” Discussion

About this event

Margaret Atwood will join us for a special livestreamed event to introduce her new essay collection, Burning Questions.

How can we live on our dying planet? How much of yourself can you give away without evaporating? Why do people from all cultures tell stories? And just what do zombies have to do with authoritarianism?

In Burning Questions, Atwood explores subjects that have long occupied her writing: womens’ rights, technology, free speech, democracy and the climate crisis. These essays cover a tumultuous period, from the aftermath of the twin towers attack and the financial crash, to the #MeToo movement, the rise of Trump and a global pandemic.

Join her for a wide-ranging conversation with Guardian chief books writer, Lisa Allardice, when she will also be answering some of your questions.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Zoom, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event.

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of Burning Questions at checkout for a special combined price of £22(RRP £20).

This event is being streamed globally.

7pm BST| 8pm CEST | 11am PDT | 2pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Book here.