Hide Your Visit

Please take a few minutes to read the warning below and to take steps to increase your safety when using the internet and this website.
This information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites. The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend’s house, or at work.

E-mail

If an abuser has access to your email account, they may be able to read your incoming and outgoing mail. If you believe your account is secure, make sure you choose a password that an abuser will not be able to guess.
If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing e-mail messages, they may be printed and saved as evidence of this abuse.

History / cache file

If an abuser knows how to read your computer’s history or cache file (automatically saved web pages and graphics), they may be able to see information you have viewed recently on the internet. You can clear your history or empty your cache file in your browser’s settings.

Netscape

Pull down Edit menu, select Preferences. Click on Navigator on choose ‘Clear History’. Click on Advanced then select Cache. Click on “Clear Disk Cache”. On older versions of Netscape: Pull down Options menu. Select Network Options, Select Cache. Click on “Clear Disk Cache”.

Internet Explorer

Pull down Tools menu, select Internet Options. On General page, under Temporary Internet Files , click on “Delete Files”. Under History click on “Clear History.”

AOL

Pull down Members menu, select Preferences. Click on WWW icon. Then select Advanced. Purge Cache.

Forms

Many browsers are set up to remember form entries, which could be a problem if you use a search engine to find the site. For example, if someone searches for ‘domestic abuse’ on a search engine this entry is remembered by the browser. The next time somebody performs a search for a word beginning with the letter ‘d’ in that search engine, the word ‘domestic abuse’ will pop up as a suggested entry.

In Internet Explorer you can get around this by clicking on Tools and selecting Internet Options.
Click on Content, select Auto Complete and finally, Clear forms.